You entered the most comprehensive Tennis Grand Slam Online Database

Category: Masters

Milestones after Miami Open

Roger Federer tied with Tom Okker (109) in the combined total number of titles (singles+doubles) on 5th position of the all-time list. On the same list, Bob Bryan made a tie with Jimmy Connors with 125 tournament titles ranking on 3rd of all-time.   

Between Federer’s 1st and latest Masters title…

From Roger Federer’s 1st Masters title at Hamburg Masters in 2002 till his latest, 28th Masters title Miami Open 2019, there were a 18-years winning span, 6160 days, 151 Masters tournaments with 32 different winners, 25 players won their first Masters titles (incl. Roger Federer).

Federer’s latest record feat: 3x Dubai-Indian Wells-Miami finals

Roger Federer became the only player who reached 3x (2005-06, 2019) in his career the consecutive finals of Dubai Tennis Championships, BNP Paribas Open & Miami Open in the same year and won at least 2 of these 3 tournaments. Roger Federer broke the tie with Novak Djokovic who completed this feat 2x (2011, 2015).

Reincarnation of the net skills at Miami Open…

Net skills in 2001: Andre Agassi vs Patrick Rafter in the semifinal Miami Open!   Net skills in 2019: Roger Federer vs Kevin Anderson in the semifinal Miami Open!  

John Isner wrote history in Miami!

John Isner wrote history: He is the only one US player in the history of Miami Open who reached the final without dropping a set! Neither Tim Mayotte, Andre Agassi, Jim Courier, Michael Chang, Pete Sampras, Andy Roddick were not able to complete this feat!

Bautista Agut joining an exclusive club

Roberto Bautista Agut joined an exclusive club: only Rafa Nadal (6), Andy Murray(5), Roger Federer (4) and Juan Martin Del Potro (3) beat the world No.1 Novak Djokovic at least 3x! However Roberto Bautista is the only one among them who defeated Novak Djokovic, as world No.1 in Doha and at Miami Open.

Back-to-back first-timers at BNP Paribas Open

This is the 1st time in this century that second straight years BNP Paribas Open celebrated first-time Masters winners on both women’s and men’s singles! In 2018: Naomi Osaka and Juan Martin del Potro in 2019 Bianca Andreescu and Dominic Thiem

Last time an Austrian tennis player won a Masters title

  – It was in the last century (in Miami, 1997) – It happened 8022 days ago – Roger Federer did not turn pro yet – Steffi Graf and Pete Sampras were No.1s – Roy Emerson had the most singles Grand Slam titles – Tiger Woods did not win any major – Hong Kong belonged to United Kingdom – Princess Diana . . .

First time in Indian Wells: Austrian – Canadian semifinal!

This year is the first time in BNP PARIBAS OPEN tournament history that an Austrian and a Canadian player meet in a semifinal (men’s + women’s singles) when Dominic Thiem will clash with Milos Raonic. Last time when an Austrian male player played here in a semifinal Thomas Muster lost vs Canadian-born Greg Rusedski in 1998.    . . .

European men rules Indian Wells’19!

European men rules Indian Wells’19! After 1987 and 2015, this is the 3rd time in Euro BNP Paribas Open tournament history since 1974 that all of the last 8 players on the men’s side were born in Europe! In 1974: Stefan Edberg, Miroslav Mecir, Mats Wilander, Jakob Hlasek, Yannick Noah, Thierre Tulasne, Boris Becker and Emilio Sanchez. . . .